Clarence History Museum Hours
2nd and 4th Sundays
1:00 - 3:00pm

Museum is closed January and February
10465 Main Street
Clarence, NY 14031
 (716) 759-8575

About the Historical Society of the Town of Clarence

Since its establishment, Clarence has progressed from an isolated, heavily forested wilderness inhabited by a few sturdy pioneers to a thriving suburban town. Named from the English House of Clarence, the Town was established as the first township in Erie County on March 11, 1808. It is comprised of the communities of Clarence Center, Clarence Hollow, Harris Hill, Swormville, and Wolcottsburg.

Our Mission Statement

To Preserve and share the History and Heritage of the Town of Clarence, respecting our past and striving into the future.

Board of Trustees

Douglas Larkin, President
Joan Woodward, Secretary
Sandra Larkin, Treasurer
Yvonne Buyers–Hicks
Daniel Gamin
Jon Rothenmeyer
Joseph McGreevy
Sara Larkin – Social Media Coordinator
​Robert A. Geiger, Town Board Liason
Mark Woodward, Town Historian
Elaine Dinola, Board Advisor

Board meetings are held the first Thursday of each month, 6:30 pm, at the Clarence History Museum.

The Historical Society is funded by the Town of Clarence.

Thanks to a grant from Legislature Ed Rath, the board worked with Sign-Language Inc. to create a fresh new look!